(ATLANTA) – Businesses and residents affected by the severe storms and tornadoes on April 5-6 in Bryan, Bulloch, Chatham, Effingham, Evans and Liberty counties can now apply for low-interest disaster loans from the U.S. Small Business Administration.

The loans were made available in response to a letter from Gov. Brian Kemp on April 20, requesting a disaster declaration by the SBA. Businesses and residents in the declared areas can now apply for low-interest disaster loans from the SBA.

Applicants may apply online using the Electronic Loan Application (ELA) via SBA’s secure website at DisasterLoanAssistance.sba.gov/ela/s and should apply under SBA declaration #17402. Disaster loan information and application forms may also be obtained by calling the SBA’s Customer Service Center at 800-659-2955 (if you are deaf, hard of hearing, or have a speech disability, please dial 7-1-1 to access telecommunications relay services) or emailing [email protected].

The filing deadline to return applications for physical property damage is June 21, 2022. The deadline to return economic injury applications is Jan. 23, 2023.


As part of the Office of the Governor, the Georgia Emergency Management and Homeland Security Agency collaborates with local, state and federal governments in partnership with private sector and non-governmental organizations to protect life and property against man-made and natural emergencies. GEMA/HS’s Ready Georgia website and preparedness campaign provides Georgians with the knowledge needed to effectively prepare for disasters. Go to gema.georgia.gov/plan-prepare/ready-georgia for information on developing a custom emergency plan and Ready kit.