Pre-Disaster Mitigation Program

The Pre-Disaster Mitigation program was authorized by §203 of the Robert T. Stafford Disaster Assistance and Emergency Relief Act (Stafford Act), 42 USC. Funding for the PDM program is provided through the National Pre-Disaster Mitigation Fund to assist States and local governments (to include Indian Tribal governments) in implementing cost-effective hazard mitigation activities that complement a comprehensive mitigation program. The PDM program provides funds to states, territories, Indian tribal governments, and communities for hazard mitigation planning and the implementation of mitigation projects prior to a disaster event. Funding these plans and projects reduces overall risks to the population and structures, while also reducing reliance on funding from actual disaster declarations. PDM grants are to be awarded on a competitive basis and without reference to state allocations, quotas, or other formula-based allocation of funds.

The Georgia Emergency Management and Homeland Security Agency administers this federal grant program in Georgia.

Eligible Applicants

Public agencies, including State and local governments are eligible to apply for PDM grants.

Applicants must participate and be in good standing in the National Flood Insurance Program if a special flood area has been mapped. Information about participating NFIP Communities is available at

Planning Criteria

To be considered for PDM funding, local governments must have a FEMA approved mitigation plan.

Eligible Project Types

Examples of PDM projects include, but are not limited to:

  1. Voluntary acquisition or relocation of hazard-prone structures for conversion to open space in perpetuity;
  2. Retrofitting of existing buildings and facilities for wildfire, seismic, wind or flood hazards (i.e., elevation, storm shutters, hurricane clips), including designs and feasibility studies when included as part of the proposed project;
  3. Construction of “safe rooms”(i.e., tornado and severe wind shelters) that meet the FEMA construction criteria in FEMA 320 “Taking Shelter from the Storm” and FEMA 361 “Design and Construction Guidance for Community Shelters”;
  4. Minor structural hazard control or protection projects that may include vegetation management, storm water management (e.g., culverts, floodgates, retention basins), or shoreline/landslide stabilization;
  5. Localized flood control projects that are designed specifically to protect critical facilities (defined as Hazardous Materials Facilities, Emergency Operation Centers, Power Facilities, Water Facilities, Sewer and Wastewater Treatment Facilities, Communications Facilities, Emergency Medical Care Facilities, Fire Protection, and Emergency Facilities) and that do not constitute a section of a larger flood control system.
  6. Generators that protect a critical facility.

Other Eligible Project Types

Development of State or local plans that meet DMA2K requirements.

Project Funding

The Federal share of PDM funding cannot exceed 75% of the total eligible project cost. For communities that meet FEMA’s definition of being a small and impoverished community, the PDM funding cannot exceed 90% of the total eligible project cost. The non-Federal share may be met with cash, contributions, certain other grants such as Community Development Block Grants, Increased Cost of Compliance flood insurance payments, or in-kind services.

Applicants must use FEMA’s eGrants system to enter their application for PDM grants. eGrants is an electronic grant system developed by FEMA as part of the Federal Government’s eCommerce initiative. Application intake will be managed through the FEMA eGrants system.

Technical Assistance

GEMA/HS Hazard Mitigation staff provides technical assistance to local governments for project application preparation. All applications start with the completion of a pre-application which are available by project type as shown on the right side of this web page.

Additional information about the PDM is available on FEMA’s website at: